Creating and Managing Backups

by Damian Stalls Updated Sep 04, 2018

Overview

The Backups feature allows end users to create backups of folders that exist on their local machines. Alternatively, administrators can create backups for end users.

When administrators or end users create a backup of a folder, all new changes are continuously backed up. The backup can be accessed from the web portal, but it does not reside in the user’s Synced Folder. When a user account is deleted from the system, the backup will deactivate, but will still be accessible in the Backups tab of the administrative web portal.

For more information on how end users create backups, please reference the How Do End Users Back Up Folders from the Desktop Client Knowledgebase article.

Use Cases

The Backups feature is designed to back up and restore important personal files, including Microsoft Office content, pictures, PDFs, and other files typically stored in a user directory or a home folder. This feature is especially useful for end users who do not have scheduled backups configured on their local machines.

In addition to being a quick and easy file-level backup solution for end users, the Backups feature can be used to restore content from one machine to another machine. For example, if a user's computer is corrupted or otherwise compromised, a desktop client can be installed and registered to the user on a new computer and the backup can be restored to this new location.

Similarly, the Backups feature can also be used to migrate a user's local content from an older computer to a new computer. First, the user can create a backup of the files and folders that need to be migrated. Next, the user can install and register a desktop client on the new computer. Finally, the backup can be restore to this new location.

For information on best practices related to the Backups feature, please reference the Best Practices for Creating Backups in Anchor Knowledgebase article.

Instructions

Creating a New Backup

You can create backups of folders within registered machines.

To create a backup:

1. In the Organization navigation menu, select the organization in which you want to create backups. The selected organization displays.

2. Click the Backups tab. The Backups page displays, showing a list of all existing backups in the selected organization.

3. In the Backups page, click the New Backup button. 

The Backup Folders page displays, listing all registered machines within the selected organization. 

4. Click to expand a machine name, and select the specific folder that you want to back up.

5. After the selected item has been selected, click the Save button. The selected item is now backed up.

Managing Backups

You can manage all backups—whether they were created by you or end users—by clicking the Backups tab. In the Backups page, you can manage the content of backups, browse the content of backups, and delete backups.

To manage backups:

1. In the Organization navigation menu, select the organization in which you want to manage backups. The selected organization displays.

2. Click the Backups tab. The Backups page displays, showing a list of all existing backups in the selected organization.

3. In the Backups page, find the backup that you want to manage.

Optionally, use the Search box to search for a backup using the owner's name. Please note that the search functionality is available in the administrative web portal only; end users cannot search for backups in their view of the Backups tab.

  • Click the checkbox next to a backup. The toolbar will expand to display additional actions. 
  • Click the Erase Deleted Files button to permanently remove deleted files in the selected backup.
  • Click the Deactivate Selected Backups button to remove the backup.
  • Click the Restore Deleted button to restore the contents of the backup to a specified location.
  • Click the Trim button to erase previous revisions to files in the backup.

4. While still in the Backups page, you can browse the contents of the backup.

5. Click the Browse button. 

The backup opens, allowing you to browse its content.

6. Inside the backup, you can:

 

  • Click the Create Folder button to create a new folder inside the backup.
  • Click the Upload Files button to add files to the backup.
  • Click the Rollback button to restore to a previous version of the backup.
  • Click the Show Deleted button to show files that have been deleted within the backup
  • Click the Restore Deleted button to return any deleted files to the backup.
  • Click the Trim button to erase previous revisions to files in the backup. 

7. In the Backups page, you can restore a backup to a specific location. You can also restore a backup to a different machine, as long as a desktop client is installed on that machine.

  • Click the Restore button.

Restore Backup page displays.

  • In the Restore Backup page, browse the selected machine to select a restore point. Optionally, click the New Folder button to create a new folder as a restore point.
  • Click the Save button when you are finished. 

8. Optionally, in the Backups page, click the Delete button to delete a backup. 

The backup will delete from the selected machine.

0 Comment

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment
Previous Article Locking Files and Folders
Next Article Protecting Data Using the Revision Rollback Feature

Still Need Help?

Open a Ticket