Receiving and Sharing Content With Guest Accounts as an End User

by Damian Stalls Updated Sep 02, 2018

Overview

In addition to collaborating and sharing content with internal coworkers, end users can also share files and folders with external, third parties. These users are called guests. Guest accounts have limited access for a fixed period of time, allowing for the transfer of files or folders, or for group collaboration on specific content.

Guest users can be created in one of the following ways:

  • The system automatically creates a new guest account when a private share link is sent to an unregistered email address.
  • End users can create a new guest account in the Guests tab of the end user web portal. 

Guest Account Access

Guest accounts can:

  • Access a shared file or folder through the web portal
  • If given permission, upload, edit, and delete content in securely shared folders
  • Manage their account information and change their password

Guest accounts cannot:

  • Utilize the desktop client, WebDAV, or mobile apps
  • Subscribe to Team Shares

Best Practice

If you will be collaborating with an external, third-party on a regular basis (for example, with a customer, client, or consultant), you might consider sharing an entire folder to aid in the collaboration process. When you create a secure share link to a folder, you can specify the email address of this external user, and configure appropriate permissions. When you send the secure share link, the system will detect the unregistered email address, and automatically generate guest credentials for this new user. In this way, the shared folder becomes a collaborative space where you can exchange and review content.

Instructions

Sharing a File or Folder with a Guest Account

In the example below, a folder will be shared to allow a guest account(s) to upload content into the system. Alternatively, you can also send share links to individual files.

Alternatively, in the web portal, right-click the file you want to share, and select Share.

The Share Access dialog box displays:

2. In the Share Access dialog box, configure share options:

  • Select the Secure Share radio button, which will require each user to log in with unique credentials before accessing the shared content. By choosing Secure Share, the system will automatically create a guest account for unregistered email addresses.

Note: Alternatively, click the Public Share option to send a standard share link. If you select this option, the recipient will not be required to log in, and a guest account will not be created. For more information on public shares, please reference the Creating Share Links as an End User article.

  • In the Share Options section, set optional configuration settings:
    • In the Expiration Date field, select a date on which the share link will expire. When a share link expires, recipients will no longer have access.
    • Click Notify on Upload to receive an email notification when a file is uploaded into the folder. 
    • Click Notify on Download to receive an email notification when a file is downloaded from the folder. 
  • In the Share With section, configure recipient information and permission settings:
    • In the Recipients field, enter the email address of the guest. The email address will automatically populate in the Permissions table.
    • Optionally, use the Notify field to determine who will receive a notification when the share link is configured. You can select from New RecipientsEveryone, or None. This field is especially useful if you are re-configuring share settings after the initial share link is sent.
    • In the Permissions table, set permissions for each recipient.
      • Click Can Modify to allow the specified user to edit the file using the Collaborative Web Editor. This permission also allows users to upload files into the folder.
      • Click Can Delete to allow the user to delete files within the shared folder.

3. Click the Save button when you are finished. The page refreshes to display the share landing page, allowing you to manage the shared folder. 

You can always revisit this share landing page from the Shares tab of the web portal. For complete instructions, please reference the Creating Share Links as an End User article.

4. Optionally, click the Share button to reconfigure share settings. 

The recipient will receive an email notification with login credentials. After logging in, guest users will be able to see the contents of the shared folder. Guest users can also manage their own user settings—including their name, email address, and password—and can even delete their own account.

Managing Guest Accounts as an End User

To manually create a guest account as an end user in the web portal:

1. Click the My Files button in the black menu bar. The My Files page displays.

2. In the My Files page, click the Guests tab. The Guest Accounts page displays, showing a list of guest accounts that you have created.

3. To create a guest, click the Create Guest button.

The Create Guest page displays, allowing you to configure settings for the new guest.

  • In the Guest Settings page, you can configure the guest’s first name, last name, email address, and password.
  • Use the Password Expires field if you would like to generate a time-sensitive password for the new guest user. You can select from 6 hours12 hours, or 24 hours. If you do not want to generate a time-sensitive password, leave this drop-down field set to Never.
  • In the Default Language drop-down menu, select the preferred site language for the organization, which also affects numbering formats. Leave this field blank to use the default language set for the system.
  • In the Default Timezone drop-down menu, select the preferred timezone, which affects dates and times displayed across the system. You can also leave this field blank to use the system default.
  • By default, the Send Welcome Email checkbox is selected, which will send a welcome email to the new guest, containing information about how to access the system. Uncheck this checkbox if you do not wish to send a welcome email.

Note: If you deselect this setting, remember to manually contact the guest to share login information.

4. Click the Save button when you are finished.

0 Comment

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment
Previous Article Creating Share Links as an End User
Next Article Using the Selective Sync Feature

Still Need Help?

Open a Ticket