Using the iOS App

by Damian Stalls Updated Sep 02, 2018

Quick Video

Overview

If you use an iOS device, such as an iPhone or an iPad, you can download the iOS app in iTunes. This app allows you to:

  • Create new files and folders
  • Open and view files and folders
  • Edit files
  • Lock files and folders
  • Share files and folders
  • Send secure shares of files and folders
  • Upload content from your device, such as photos
  • Automatically back up your camera roll to a synced folder, called Camera Uploads
  • Rename, delete, and move items
  • Favorite items for offline viewing

 

Supported iOS Versions

For information on supported iOS versions, please reference the System Requirements article

Instructions

Prerequisite

You will need to install the SyncedTool App before proceeding.  Please read the Downloading Mobile Apps article for information on installing software on your device.

Logging In

1. In your iOS device, press the app icon to launch the app. The Login window displays, prompting you to enter your login credentials:

  • In the Host field, enter the host of the system (vitsync.syncedtool.com ).
  • In the User field, enter your email address (for example, user@mail.com).
  • In the Password field, enter your password.
  • Press the Login button when you are finished.

Your organization may have a custom URL for accessing the web portal.  Regardless all customers can access the system at the URL shown above.

If your organization uses Active Directory your password will be the same as your network password (used to log in to your computer).  If you are in a "Workgroup" environment you will have been provided a password in the welcome email.

2. If Two-Step Authentication has been enabled as an organization policy or as an account policy, you will be prompted to enter an authentication code at the time of initial registration. Enter the authentication code and press the OK button.

3. If Two-Step Authentication has been enabled as an organization policy, you will also be asked to configure a passcode after the initial registration process. At subsequent sessions, you will be prompted to enter this passcode when you access your mobile app.

Note: If Two-Step Authentication has been turned on only as an individual account policy, that account will not be required to configure a passcode.

4. You will be directed to the Settings page. Select Use Passcode.

You will be prompted to enter a Passcode.

When accessing the mobile app in the future, you will be prompted to first enter this passcode.

Viewing and Editing Files

You can view files using the iOS app, allowing you to preview and edit content without fully downloading it to your mobile device. You can also use the Collaborative Web Editor to edit files and collaborate with coauthors in real time. In this way, you can review and update content without utilizing mobile resources.

1. Press the Files button. The Files screen displays.

2. In the Files screen, find the file that you want to view.

3. Press the title of the file. The file opens, allowing you to review content without utilizing mobile resources.

4. Press the Edit button to open the file for editing.

The Collaborative Web Editor opens in editing mode, allowing you to edit the file and collaborate with coauthors in real time.

Your changes will save automatically.

5. When you are finished, press the Done button.

For information on the Collaborative Web Editor's functionality and technical specs, please reference the How to Use the Collaborative Web Editor Knowledgebase article.

Saving Files to the iOS App

1. Open a file; for example, you might need to open a file attachment from your email application.

2. Within the file, press the Share button.

3. In the Share menu, select Save to Files.

4. In the Choose Location screen, select Synced Tool.

You will be prompted to select the exact location from the folder list.

Locking Files and Folders

Optionally, you can lock a file or folder within a Team Share.

1. Press the Files button. The Files screen displays.

3. Select the appropriate file or folder, and then press the Lock button at the bottom of the screen. The item is now locked, preventing other users from accessing your content. Locks are enforced across the web, desktop clients, and mobile devices.

Sharing Files and Folders

You can share files and folders directly within your app. You can also send secure shares.

1. Press the Files button. The Files screen displays.

2. In the Files screen, find the file you want to share. Using your finger, slide the file to the right to reveal additional options.

3. Press the Share button.

4. In the Share this Item menu, select from the following options:

  1. Select E-mail secure link to send a secure share. You will be prompted to enter a recipient email address and compose an email message.
  2. Select Email link to send a public share. You will be prompted to enter a recipient email address and compose an email message.
  3. Select Copy link to clipboard to copy the URL. You can then paste the URL within an email message, text message, or other communication tool.
Backing Up Your Camera Roll

You can also automatically back up your mobile phone's camera roll to a synced folder using the Auto Backup feature. When this feature is turned on, your mobile app will automatically back up photos, videos, or both, to a synced folder called Camera Uploads. With this feature, you always have a backup of your mobile photos and videos.

1. Press the Settings button


The Settings page displays.

2. In the Settings page, press the Camera Upload option. The Camera Upload menu displays.

  • Select the Enable Camera Upload option to back up photos on your device.
  • Select the Upload Videos option to back up videos on your device.
  • Select the Background Upload option to initiate backups without accessing the app. Note: When uploading content over your mobile network, charges from your service provider may apply.

3. Back in the settings page, you can optionally turn on the Only Upload over wifi option to upload content only when you are connected to a wifi connection. This setting will help you avoid charges from your service provider.

Setting a File or Folder as a Favorite for Offline Viewing

Finally, you can mark files and folders as a favorite so that they are downloaded to your device. Your mobile app will be aware of files that are not favorites, but only favorite files and folders will be fully downloaded. You can decide to favorite and un-favorite files and folders based on space limitations and access needs.

1. In the Files screen, slide the appropriate file or folder to the right to reveal a set of options for that file or folder.

2. Press the Favorite button (star icon) to mark the file as a favorite. If you favorite an entire folder, all if its files will become favorites as well.

3. To a view a full list of favorite files and folders, press the Favorites button.

0 Comment

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment
Previous Article Using the Android App
Next Article Using the Windows Phone App

Still Need Help?

Open a Ticket