Anchor allows users to place locks on files and folders in Team Shares, giving subscribers the ability to set read-only permissions on shared content. This feature prevents other Team Share subscribers from editing and overwriting content while changes are being made. When an item is locked, a lock icon is placed over the file or folder, alerting other Team Share subscribers that it is in read-only mode. Locks are enforced across desktop clients, the web interface, and mobile devices, but administrators always have the ability to unlock a file or folder if necessary.
If a user forgets to lock a file or folder before making changes, a file sync conflict could occur. For more information, please reference the How Do I Manually Resolve a File Sync Warning Knowledgebase article.
Locks can be used in multiple ways to improve and support collaboration in Team Shares. For example:
Temporarily Lock a Single File
- When editing a file in a Team Share, the locking feature can be used to temporarily set read-only permissions on the file, preventing other Team Share subscribers from making changes and overwriting your work. The Auto-Locking and Lock For options allow you to automatically expire a lock after a certain time period.
Permanently Lock a Single File
- In some instances, a certain Team Share file might need to be shared with—but never edited by—subscribers. For example, you might decide to set a permanent lock on a form or a template so that it can never be edited or deleted.
Lock an Entire Folder or Team Share
- Not only can you lock an individual file, but you can also place a lock on a folder or a Team Share. For example, you might decide to dedicate an entire Team Share—or a subfolder within a Team Share—to read-only information, such as HR forms.
When you are working in the desktop client, you will see a lock icon displayed over a file or folder when it has been locked by you or another Team Share subscriber. Optionally, you can view information about who locked the file or folder.
In the desktop client, right-click the Team Share item, point to the sync menu, and select Lock Info.
A dialog box displays, giving you information about who locked the item, where the item was locked, and when the lock expires.
When you are working in the web portal, you can view this same information about who locked the file or folder.
In the web portal, right-click the item, and select Lock Info. A pop-up window displays, giving you information about who locked the item, where the item was locked, and when the lock expires.
If a user opens an already-locked file, he or she will be presented with a pop-up notification.
Note: When attempting to edit a Microsoft Word 2013 or Microsoft Excel 2013 locked file, offending users will need to actively clear the read-only notification before they can edit a file. Older versions of Microsoft Word, however, will only display a read-only notification in the toolbar area. It is important to be mindful when working in Team Shares, and to pay attention to display indicators and warning messages.
If this user ignores the warning, and attempts to save changes, he or she will receive a warning message and be prompted to save the file with a different name.