Creating Share Links as an End User

by Damian Stalls Updated Nov 14, 2018

Overview

Share links allow you to share a direct link to a file or folder to internal or external users.  You can send a public share or a secure share. Secure shares require each recipient to log in with their own unique login credentials. If you send a secure share to a recipient outside of your organization, the system will automatically create a guest account for that user and send the credentials through email.

Instructions

Sharing a File

Share links to files can be created within the web portal, from the desktop client, or from a mobile device.

1. In the web portal, right-click the file and select Share. 

Or, if you are working in the desktop client, right-click the file, point to the context menu, and select Share link.

Share Access dialog box displays, allowing you to configure share settings. 

  • The Secure Share option, which requires each recipient to log in with his or her unique credentials.
  • The Public Share option, which sends a publicly available share link to the file. If you create a public share link, you can also select the Allow anonymous users to edit files checkbox to allow users to edit the file online using the Collaborative Web Editor.
  • The Share Options settings, which allow you to:
    • Select whether the share link will expire after a certain date
    • Set a download limit
    • Turn on email notifications for when the share is downloaded
  • The Share With settings, which allow you to specify share recipients and set permissions for each of these users. This section is only required if you are sending a secure share link. Alternatively, for public share links, you can optionally copy the share link and send it to desired collaborators through third-party communication tools.
  • The Permissions settings, which let you set Can Modify permissions, allowing the specified user to edit the file using the Collaborative Web Editor. 

3. Click the Share button save your changes. You will be redirected to the share landing page, where you can open the file in edit mode (if supported), reconfigure share settings, download the file, and more. This is the same landing page that will be seen by the share recipient(s).

Note: If you reopen and edit the share link, you will see a Cancel button, which will close the dialog box, but will not delete the share link.

Sharing a Folder

Share links to folders can be created within the web portal, from the desktop client, or from a mobile device.

1. In the web portal, right-click the folder and select Share. 

Or, if you are working in the desktop client, right-click the folder, point to the context menu, and select Share link.  A Share Access dialog box displays, allowing you to configure share settings. 

  • The Secure Share option, which requires each recipient to log in with his or her unique credentials.
  • The Public Share option, which sends a publicly available share link to the folder. If you create a public share link, you can also select the Allow anonymous users to edit files checkbox to allow users to edit files within the folder using the Collaborative Web Editor.
  • The Share Options settings, which allow you to:
    • Select whether the share link will expire after a certain date
    • Set a download limit
    • Turn on email notifications for when the share is downloaded
  • The Share With settings, which allow you to specify share recipients and set permissions for each of these users. This section is only required if you are sending a secure share link. Alternatively, for public share links, you can optionally copy the share link and send it to desired collaborators through third-party communication tools.
  • The Permissions settings, which let you set the following permissions:
    • Can Modify permissions allow the specified user to edit files within the folder using the Collaborative Web Editor. Can Modify also lets users upload files into the folder. 
    • Can Delete permissions allow the user to delete files within the shared folder.

Note: If you reopen and edit the share link, you will see a Cancel button, which will close the dialog box, but will not delete the share link.

Viewing Items Shared With You

You can also view a list of all content that has been shared with you by other users.

1. In the web portal, click the Shares tab.

2. Click the Items Shared With You button to view files that were shared with you by others in your organization, as well as information about who shared the file and what access rights you were given (including read, write, and delete).

0 Comment

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment
Previous Article Using the Outlook Add-In
Next Article Receiving and Sharing Content With Guest Accounts as an End User

Still Need Help?

Open a Ticket